July 2011, It was HOT [Blog Post]

This so far has been the hottest month of the year, but it’s summer so what do you expect.

On July 4th we went to the Fairfield 4th of July parade. We missed the beginning and we stayed for about 40 minutes. The  parade was really long, there were long breaks in between floats and stuff. One was even 10 minutes!

So after a few minutes we left and went to Suisun to see what they had at the waterfront. I’ve never been to Suisun for their 4th of July thing and they had a lot of stuff. There were a couple of tents that had some good food and a lot of tents that were selling random stuff. The kids area had slides and jump houses but they weren’t under the shade or anything so it looked like kids might get a little burned when their skins touch it or something. We got some snow cones and the cool thing is there was a island of different flavors next to the snow cone stand where you can put as much syrup as you wanted. After walking around for a bit we went to the mall to cool down in the AC and then went home before we went back to Suisun for the fireworks. Around 30 minutes before the fireworks started, we were driving around looking for a spot. We decided to go in this big lot across the street of the Arco gas station and there was about 100 cars there. Afterwards we tried leaving and we were stuck there for about 30 minutes because someone got into an accident in front of the little ramp to leave.

For a while I knew something and then on the 5th, my sister announced that her  and Brian were having a baby! So that means I’m going to be an Uncle which is awesome! Everyone was excited for them and she is due in late January.

Some smaller things:
-I was barbequing and I burnt my middle finger and that really hurt like hell.
-My friend Danny had an extra ticket to a Giants game. So I went with his family, tried chicken feet at their cousins house (it was gross), and the Giants won so that was fun.

On the 10th I went to the Alameda County Fair with Joanna, Robin, and Jon. The fair was a lot bigger than I had imagined and a lot of shade which was really nice. We walked though a couple buildings and saw a little pig race that was interesting.  While inside a shopping building Joanna and I saw a pillow pet that was a SF Giants panda and it even had a Giants hat so I bought that for her and she was happy about that. Before we left I went in line to try the Deep Fried Butter. Robin and Jon each had a little scorpion and they said it tasted like burnt stuff. The Fried Butter was interesting. The first bite was mostly just dough, but the second bite was when most of the butter inside came out and was all over my hand. At that point I just drained all the butter out of the thing and ate it and it was OK. There were four balls of butter in total and I only ate one more. I was going to throw it away, but Joanna wanted to try it too so she had half of one before it was too much. After that, we went to Wal-Mart to shop for stuff to bring to our beach trip the next day and then we went home.

Woke up real early and Nikki picked me up to go meet everyone at Christine’s house. Looking at the forecast and it didn’t look good for a beach trip so we decided to go to Lake Berryessa instead which was a good idea. We were the only ones there when we arrived around 11am. We were there for around 6 hours and it was nice. We got a nice big shaded area and we had some rafts.

Sometime later most of the girls swam to an island and when they came back, we weren’t paying attention to a raft we left by the edge of the water and it drifted about 1/4 mile away. So a few of us took a smaller raft to go and swim to it but it was drifting away too fast. Some nice older women on a jet ski brought it back for us and that was really nice of them. I think we left around 5 0r 6. Most of us were hungry so we went to Carino’s for dinner to end the day. Found out a week later my skin was peeling. I’ve never put sunscreen on because usually I don’t get burnt, but now I know and I’ll be more careful next time.

Here’s a recap video I made of the Alameda Fair and the Lake

A week later Joanna and I went to the Sugar Town Festival in Crockett (Where the C&H Factory is). We were there for around 20 minutes and we left since it was really small and early. Joanna had the idea to go to the State Fair in Sacramento and we should bring Sam along. She said she never went to the State Fair before so we took her there and it was cool. We watched a horse thing that was cool and walked around a lot. Also, I was on a mission to try some weird fried stuff. Joanna had Fried Cookie Dough which she thought was delicious. I found Deep-Fried Kool-Aid which is just Kool-Aid mixed with Batter. When I took a bite into it, I could really taste the Kool-Aid but they burnt it so It didn’t really taste good. Later that night Sam and I rode a ride that looks like a UFO and it spins you around while your pushed against the wall. Joanna does not like any rides that spin so she sat that one out. Right before we went on, the crew there had to clean up since a kid threw up. We went on the other side of where the kid threw up and it was fun. After that we left to go home.

My cousin had her 5th baby on the 19th and his name is Connor Matthew Roses Siruno. I visited them right before she was being discharged and helped them out to  their car. A couple of days later, I took Joanna to their house so she can visit the new baby.

Later in the month I got an interview in Roseville. My mom was insisting on coming so she came along. After my interview, we went to the Galleria since I’ve never been there and just walked around looking at the stuff. It reminded me of the Vally Fair mall in San Jose because all the expensive stores.

On the 31st Joanna and I went to Travis Air Force Base for the Air Show. We got there around 9 and walked through a few planes. These things were huge. It was crazy going through these planes. We also looked at smaller planes like Cessnas, gliders, fighter jets and some helicopters and military cars. We sat on the bleachers at the start of the stunt flyers and then after an hour, we looked around more planes.  Food was expensive but we got burgers. We saw Dustin and the kids and we were talking for a little bit. While walking around we would stop every so often to watch some planes do their stunts. They were sponsored by Chevy and you could test drive some cars. I test drove the new Volt, Camero, and a Silverado. We left around 2-ish and we went to the mall to finally watch Captain America.
It was really good. I would say it’s a really good war movie that happened to involve a superhero. I’d say out of all the superhero movies out this year, this is the best.



Thanks For Reading!

2 responses to “July 2011, It was HOT [Blog Post]

  1. Baby Connor made the blog too! Woo-hoo…….LOL Looks like you had a fun July! And you got good pictures from the airshow! I gave Dustin our camera to take pictures of the kids in the planes and all that’s on the camera is pictures of planes =P

Leave a Reply

